Today started off with realizing that I was going to be busy.  I knew this because we actually sat around and I managed to read ten pages of a book I brought.  Dispatch never disappoints and today was no exception.

Our day started off with the little atropine call.  Older guy heart rate of 48 and the fire medic wished to give atropine.  This of course would be an excellent course for a symptomatic bradycardia.  If tou are not fluent in sarcasm, I am going to come out and say it, “This patient was not symptomatic.”  He was awake and alert, had a decent blood pressure and stated verbally that he had no complaints.  It is not that the fire department treatment was blatant or wrong, maybe just maybe they saw something in this patient that I did not.

The next few calls were the typical Vegas drunks.  There was nothing special about these calls.  I will not bore you with the details of those.  Just the typical EMS BS that we all have to deal with.

The truly important call of the day was the a trauma.  I usually don’t get too excited about trauma.  I have usually seen it or at least the end result.  Today though I actually used the phrase “depressed skull fracture.”  This is pretty rare at least for me, but it was pretty obvious.  No radiology needed.  The dude’s melon was dented.

The day ended with a late call.  For those unfamiliar, this is just pure evil.  This means that you are going home late, wasting your precious time off.  We sign up to do our job.  I am not saying I will not do my job, I just want to go home on time.  I sacrifice enough.  My company is just unable to fill all of our open shifts.

Moral is slightly low and call offs are on the rise.  I do not use my sick days for mental health days.  I like many cannot afford to.  I try to only use sick days for actual sickness.  I used one day last year at my Vegas company in 7 months.  I think I used one other day in Colorado.  i guess I have a different work ethic.  The culture is different here.  People here call off almost to the point of being suspended.  I can never imagine that.

So today was yet another day that had me thinking of a new career.  I am getting a little to old to think of that, but it has crossed my mind.  It just keeps coming up.  I am paid decently, but it just seems like it is never enough.  It is also just so frustrating that I hear the security at resorts that are making more.  I see busy nurses making astronomical figures in dollars.  I also deal with government based firefighters who are making six figures a year.  I call it the school teacher syndrome.  Just like a school teacher, we are just severely underpaid and thrust off as if we are clueless idiots.

We are just technically insane.  We keep doing the same thing over and over again.  We keep showing up to work.  We do what the voices tell us to do.  It is just dispatch, but still.  We see people at their worst and somehow we still pick ourselves up every morning and head into work.

Sorry for the ranting diatribe, I guess I just needed to vent a little.

About burnedoutmedic

I am a full time paramedic working in a 911 system. Vegas baby. A dry sense of humor, and no writing skills

Leave a Reply

