I visited Rye Colorado yesterday to officiate a soccer game.  I guess I am like everyone else in that I do not like to travel to do games.  Unfortunately with my pretty sweet schedule at work, and my love of soccer, I am willing and able.  I end up in far away places, and it really is just to officiate a soccer game.

Yesterdays game was kind of cool.  We did a two man system.  This is not always the greatest, but it is nice to work with a good ref every once in awhile.  Not a bad way to spend one of my days off.  The weather was great, the sun was shining and the wind wasn’t really a problem.

I must say that I am glad the visiting school got a new coach, the last guy they had was an ass, and I conflicted with him.  I promised to never visit or officiate his school again, but circumstances being what they are, I was forced once again into giving in.  The  Rye Thunderbolts are not a fabulous team, but they play with a lot of heart.  Their coach is awesome, and the girls run like no other, not once did I truly see them give up.  Trinidad were the visitors.  They are a little more soccer savvy, but in no way a great team either.  Their coach is knowledgeable and loud, but not obnoxious.

All in all it was a good game, even if the scoreboard did not indicate it.  Very few fouls, one yellow card, and I got more of the stretching out that I need to finish the season.  I always get a little better after the first few games.  I will travel to Trinidad on Friday.  Another 180 mile round trip just to provide refs to soccer teams.  Ugh.  But it will be a three man, two match gig, so the paycheck will not be bad at all.

I am hoping the weather stays comfortable, I really dislike officiating in the rain or extreme cold.  That is just no fun for anyone.  The weather has been nice and seems to be consistently warming up.  Which means we are in for a winter type storm soon.  We rarely easily transition into spring.

The next Rapids games are away game.  So without any scheduled trips to Denver, my focus will be on trying to find a tv or a stream to catch these games.  Considering that I only got a few minutes of the first game to enjoy.  I am going to try and make up for it.

 

About burnedoutmedic

I am a full time paramedic working in a 911 system. Vegas baby. A dry sense of humor, and no writing skills

Leave a Reply

