Wow yup that is the teaser, I fried weird banana type things today.  Otherwise I really didn’t do anything important.  I started reading the Stephan King book, I watched a little tv, and I worked on soccer referee assigning.

As the assignor, I send referees to soccer games.  I do this for local and not so local high schools.  I gather their schedules and try to stretch the demands of ten schools and maybe 12 referees.  I truly hate this part of the job.  I would rather just referee and avoid the politics associated with this job.

I have to balance the ever changing schedules of the teams.  I have to constantly juggle the demands of referees.  I can’t work this game, I can only work these.  My kid went there, so I better not do their games at that school. The worst part is that some of schools have upset so many officials and refs that it is near impossible to to get officials to those games.  I personally won’t go to two of the ten schools that I assign for.  Nothing quite like forcing officials to avoid your school.  Sad sad sad, your athletic program has to pay more for out of area officials.  Quite sad that those two schools have forced more than one referee out of the game.

This all becomes a non issue at the end of the season.  One way or another, I will not be the assignor again.  If my move happens, I will be the new guy and can say no to assigning.  If I stay, I am just flat out saying no.  Find someone else.  I can’t deal with that and all the crap that comes with it.

I still the game, I still truly love being a referee.  I still truly hold my belief that I am non biased.  Schools which I have developed negative feelings toward are avoided.  I simply don’t put myself in their path and since I control it, they don’t have to deal with me. If all holds well, I will be done with the majority of this assigning in the next few days.  Then it will just be last minute stuff and weather delays to deal with.

EMS wise I studied for a test, I think I have coverage for my ATT class on the 9th.  I think that going into work tomorrow, I just need to study some more and try to rest as much as I can.  Fortunately I have a duty assignment that may allow some studying and possibly some rest.

As far as my list goes, I really don’t think I accomplished anything.  I will look just in case, but I really don’t see what else this annual bucket list that I may have actually done today.

Yup nothing doing for the list.  I didn’t look very hard, but there are 264 things left.  That means I am pretty far ahead.

Now if I could just get my money back from Florida Child Support.  Thieves.

 

About burnedoutmedic

I am a full time paramedic working in a 911 system. Vegas baby. A dry sense of humor, and no writing skills

Leave a Reply

