I was going to start out ranting about the big kids.  Instead I will focus on the positive.  I am positive that it is my birthday.   I am positive that I chose to make my own cake, and I am positive that I really needed to start everything earlier in the day.  I will be rushing to get everything done in time so that the big kids might be able to partake in my birthday celebration.  Yup even though they do not respect anything in our house, they can be part of me turning another year older.

Yesterday at work was fun, we really didn’t do a whole lot, but after realizing that I am smarter than the ED doc yesterday was fun.  They were trying to keep us for an AMI that needed transferred to the central hospital.  Being a dedicated to Pueblo West car, we only take emergent transfers from the satellite ED to the main hospital.

While waiting for many things to fall into place for us to take the transfer, I snuck a peak at the 12 lead EKG of the suspected AMI patient.  I was absolutely sure that the EKG was clean and that this PT was for sure not a STEMI patient.  The ED doc came out and asked me what I thought of it.  I explained that it was cleaner than mine and that there was no evidence of an ST elevation MI.  That doc disagreed and swore that she saw elevation in v-2 and v-3.  Uh no not even a half a little box.  She said that the inverted T wave in Lead III was a reciprocal change of the Septal wall MI.  Uh once again I am not a cardiologist, but my earning said that septal and anterior ST elevation does not produce reciprocal changes.  So we argued and argued till the cardiologist and cath lab doc sent their report over.  They did not see an AMI at all, and with the negative labs that just came in the PT was not an heart attack victim anyway.

We still took the transfer, I wouldn’t try to piss off a customer in any way.  So the whole way the patient was asking me what I was doing arguing with a doctor since I was just an EMT.  Ugh.  I asked her what her chief complaint was that brought her to the ED.  She said hip pain and dizziness with a history of infrequent vertigo.

The rest of the calls were simple.  I talked a truly bat shit crazy man out of his recliner and into the rig.  My partner got one of our frequent flyers.  All in all it was not a bad day.

So after getting to sleep in til noon ish today.  I have now started my own birthday cake and have dinner set to go as well.

I did at least one more thing off the list today.

“Read four books”  I finished the Hunger games series.  It was awesome yet disappointing.  That series could have gone on for quite a few more books.  It ended well, I just will miss it.  I am moving on to the Stephen King book now .  11/22/63.  I really don’t know a whole lot about it, but what the heck.

“Bake a cake” not bad that I knocked this out on my birthday.

About burnedoutmedic

I am a full time paramedic working in a 911 system. Vegas baby. A dry sense of humor, and no writing skills

Leave a Reply

